Recent Searches
Clear

Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.

|
Nice, France
Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Colorful Provence boasts some of France’s most beautiful countryside scenery, but organizing transportation to explore solo from the French Riviera takes time and effort. On this tour, enjoy round-trip travel from your Nice hotel and see the best of Provence in a day. With your guide at the wheel, spin to must-see sites like Moustiers-Sainte-Marie and the Verdon gorges, and enjoy uninterrupted views over the rural landscapes.
  • See the best of Provence in a day on this sightseeing tour from Nice
  • Save sightseeing time organizing transportation independently
  • Discover sites of interest such as Moustiers-Sainte-Marie and the Verdon gorges
  • Hassle-free round-trip transport from your Nice hotel
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Bottled water
Air-conditioned vehicle
Pick up and drop-off at your accommodation
WiFi on board

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

We pick up in any point of Nice
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY French Riviera Sightseeing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon..
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon..

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
72 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews
star-5
Sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful sights of Provence.
Karen_H
, Jun 2022
The Lavendar fields were spectacular and our guide said we’d hit just the right season. Our guide, Nicholas, provided an interesting, comfortable and rewarding day long trip.
star-2
A disappointing 12 hour day:(
Lisa_T
, Jun 2022
Although our guide, Matt, was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating to the two kids who had to throw up during the drive and he was happy to get more water for anyone who requested or needed it, there were way too many stops for durations that were unnecessary and for sights not that impressive. I sat in the front seat, uncomfortably squished and holding on for dear life because the roads were incredibly windy and he was driving too fast in my opinion. He also played the music so loud it took away from the enjoyment of the scenery:(. Unfortunately, our lunch break was too rushed and in the town that I would have liked to explore more. The lake was breathtaking but I would have rather enjoyed a nice lunch instead of being forced to eat whatever restaurant was open. We should have arrived in Sainte Marie 45 minutes earlier to truly appreciate it. The lavender fields were the last stop so due to the heat I was a sweaty mess and not in the mood for a photo. I was so stressed and frustrated on the drive back to Nice and sadly grateful when I finally got dropped off.
star-4
Lavender and Lake
Joseph_W
, Jun 2022
We saw some very cute French towns and spent some time in the countryside. We also saw the gorgeous fields of lavender and the beautiful Lake Croix.
star-4
Great Tour
Kaitlin_S
, Jun 2022
We had a great trip to see the Gorges and enjoy the lavender fields. FYI, if you are mainly only going for the lavender fields, only two stops for about 10 minutes each are included. The rest of the tour was spent enjoying the views of the Gorges and exploring/snacking/shopping in ancient villages along the way. This was perfect for us and we really enjoyed it! Thanks, Matthieu!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A fabulous day not only...
Sara_R
, Jun 2022
A fabulous day not only because of all the places visited but because of our wonderful guide Lawrence who looked after us all so well and went above and beyond to make sure we had a memorable experience. Thank you!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful scenery
Daniela_R
, Jun 2022
Abdel was an amazing tour guide. He did a great job explaining all the sites and making sure all our needs were accommodated. The tour in itself was beautiful. We got to visit French villages while also admiring the scenery of the alps. The lavender fields weren’t fully bloomed but still very beautiful. The roads were winding and the weather was really hot so highly recommended you bring sunscreen and nausea medication if you’re prone to car sickness.
star-5
Thanks Nordine !
Dilva_N
, Jun 2022
Awesome experience touring the country side around Nice. Got to visit 3 different departments in 1 day! A special thanks to Nordine who was awesome and made the day so special!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful experience, highly reccommended
Antonia_Z
, Jun 2022
This was a wonderful small group tour. We were in a van with 8 tourists and 1 driver/guide. Mathieu/Matthew was our driver and guide, who did a superb job at telling us about the different places where we stopped and coordinating with us how much time we wanted in each place. The coordinating with the company for pickup time was the only difficult part of this; I ended up having to whatsapp message and call them to confirm when I would be picked up. Once the tour started there were no issues. Matthew took us to see Tourettes-sur-Loup for a nice photo, then a brief stop at the waterfalls at Cascades du Saut du Loup, then a longer about 1 hour stop at Castellane(where most of us ate lunch), and then to the viewpoint of the Gorge du Verdon where we took photos. Then we continued on to Moustiers-Sainte-Marie and stayed for about an hour, then continued to the lavender fields and Matthew was nice enough to stop at a small shop/truck right in the fields where we could buy lavender and honey(he suggested this over buying at the local towns). We then continued to the lake Sainte Croix du Verdon, where we chose to spend about an hour at the lake and then we headed back to Nice (an approximately 2 hour drive). It is a lot of driving but well worth it because the views are amazing and you get to see what more of the country side is like. The small group setting was exponentially better compared to another trip I took which was with large groups and a double decker bus.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Waste of time
Jesse_R
, Jun 2022
I would NOT recommend to take this tour. To start with, the guide didn't respond to our messages to confirm that he is going to pick us up, up untill 9 pm the evening before the trip was supposed to happen! Only after we messaged Viator to refund us, the guide decided to respond. The next morning the driver came to pick us up. He was late by like 15 minutes. And yes, it was a driver, not guide. He didn't speak good english and from 10 hours on the tour, we were in the car driving in silence for 7 hours. We didn't learn anything at all, he couldn't even say where we were!! We kinda figured he was there for the first time himself. When we finally reached the lavander fields, lavander was not in bloom. Although we knew that lavander supposed to bloom a week later after our visit, we did see other fields in bloom on the train ride to Niece. So they didn't bother to check what fields in bloom. Stop on the lake - waste of time. We stopped for wine tasting for like 10 minutes - didn't see the winery at all. Bottom line - 12 hours wasted.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Great Gorge Trip
Nance
, Jun 2022
Our guide Matthew was fantastic. Got to see parts of France not easily visited without a car. The lake was stunning and the lavender smelled great. The small villages were interesting and the gorge was breathtaking.
star-3
Trip was better when we...
Nick_S
, Jun 2022
Trip was better when we convinced driver to slow down. His driving made everyone nervous. Driver did not speak much English which detracted from tour. Too much time spent at lake and not enough time in small towns
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Very way to see the Gourges Du Verdon
95rmbwhhxp
, May 2022
We both really enjoyed the trip. Great views of the Gouges Du Verdon. Although the Lavender fields were not in bloom they still looked spectacular. And had lunch and free time in the picturesque Moustiers Saint Marie village. There was also the option to kayak on the river going through the canyon. The thing the really made the trip though was our tour guide Abdel. He engaged with everyone on the trip. Was very entertaining. And went out of his way to give everyone what they wanted from the trip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
See the countryside and feel the forces of nature folded rocks lakes and twisting mountain roads
Angela_P
, May 2022
Vultures flowers tomatoes in the market at Castellane . Lavender bushes like caterpillars across the plateau fields . Tourquoise water in the gorge and sky blue sunshine with vultures along the gorge , yellow and blue flowers in solidarity with Ukraine .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
soooooo goooood tour!!
JOONWOO_Y
, May 2022
guide is very kindness, good explain, safty driving, enough free time given to me I'm really really satisfied this tour verdon is fantastic, and good people with tour, so very happy day
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Terrible-no English spoken
Arthur_V
, May 2022
We schedule the tour in English. The driver guide did not speak any English. He pointed but couldn't tell us anything about what we were looking at. The waterfall lacked beauty. We did not see the lavender museum or get any information about lavender. Transportation was 45 minutes late. I would not recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello We are sorry to hear that from you knowing that today we have prepared a special vehicle for you and we have done everything to satisfy you. concerning our driver / guide speaks very good English and very experienced and the other customers who have been with are witnesses, they all contacted us to tell us that you are badly spoken to the driver and your behavior even with them was not good. you had the complete tour with a stop to canoe too. we provided all the service with an experienced driver guide. cordially
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great trip despite rain in the afternoon Scenery is stunning!
Martina_A
, May 2022
Gorges de verdon and blue lake fantastic scenery. Also small villages along the way. Lavender fields not in bloom but still worth seeing .
star-5
Have to do it! Most beautiful side of France
n_k
, Apr 2022
Loved it!!! Abdul was the sweetest host and drove us around and gave us a full explanation for all the Grand Canyon of Europe, the lavender fields, and all scenic sports! Moistures of Saint Marie and the whole gorges du vernon was beautiful to another level! I would recommend this everyone!
star-3
Just expect a beautiful Gorge
Elsoe
, Apr 2022
The Gorge is beautiful and worth seeing and Saint Marie as well..the Lavender fields are a bluff..only boom in summer. The Tour guide was nice …but mostly spoke French with another tourist.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful experience
Diana_L
, Apr 2022
Our guide was fantastic. I can’t remember her name but she was from Russian and has lived her over 20 years. She shared so much history of France and gave us beautiful memories.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Many thanks for your comment .
star-5
Excellent
Abbie_N
, Mar 2022
Tour was great and guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The guide was also very accommodating when it came to stopping for pictures etc. There's only 2 things that could be improved: which is that the online info said there would be time for lunch, but there wasn't really enough time in each place to go to a restaurant and the stops were not at times when restaurants were open. If this is the case, maybe it would be good to advice people prior to the tour to bring lunch. Secondly, we knew the lavender fields were not going to be in bloom during the time we went, but it doesn't seem right to me to advertise that as a main attraction when there is only a 3 week window where this is available. This may lead to others being disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Many thanks for your comment .

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.
Likely to Sell Out
Visit the fields of lavender and the gorges du verdon.

star-472

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.63

star-4.55

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$132.83

star-51

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$90.32

star-417

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.44

star-4.522

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.01

star-00

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.01

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.51
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations