Recent Searches
Clear

Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest

star-4.526 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Juan, Caribbean
Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest
27

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Fresh Fruits
Lunch
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We offer pick up and drop off from hotels and airbnbs in: Isla Verde, Condado, Miramar, Ocean Park, Santurce and Old San Juan. Old San Juan guests will be meeting us at Plaza Colón. Guests staying outside of the Metro Area will meet us at Plaza Colón as well, and park at Doña Fela.

Depending on the season and to make sure you enjoy the wonders of El Yunque the best way, this tour might start before the scheduled time to avoid arriving at the river when it's crowded.

We ask that you please wait outside of your accommodation.

Departure Time

8:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bestours, LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "This is a very active and wet tour, requiring intermediate hiking experience." See review
  • "Hiking route was muddy and a bit technical but the views were worth it." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
26 Reviews
4 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews
star-5
Carlos... Carlos... Carlos!!
FeeR
, Jul 2021
By far... This appeared to the best tour (out of many) to be on. Maybe it was because of our tour guide Carlos. He was the BEST!! I observed all the other tour guides out there and they were not as attentive.. Carlos actually cared about our safety. He even cared about the safety of people in other companies group. He was extremely knowledgeable about the country and the rainforest. Cutting up and earing the fruit was a perfect authentic touch/experience. I really appreciate how this company doesn't do large groups. They do groups under 11 ppl... When other companies had groups of 30 or more. You really need a tour guide that's going to look out for your safety out there. It's a great experience... but it can be a bit dangerous at times. So you a tour guide that's going to actually be concerned about keeping everyone safe. This tour was everything I imagined it to be.... From the hike.. To the cliff jumping! Well worth the money!!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
So fun!
Kellie_R
, Jul 2021
Great tour with Carlos. Beautiful location. Loved the rope swing and thoroughly enjoyed the swim, hike and the day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Horrible, scam , never do it
Ankush_G
, Jul 2021
It was horrible. It is a scam.the tour operators purposefully waste your time and as soon as you arrive miraculously the flooding will start . Then they will offer you a cheap trip to the beach for $160 per person. Complete scam. It is laughable. Never ever do it
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Ankush! It is never our intention to waste anyone's time or take your money. All 12 guests including yourself have been fully refunded. In situations like this, we take the loss paying staff and all the other transportation expenses.  The owner of the company called herself to explain the situation to you but refused to hear. Before picking up guests in the morning, we check for the water levels at the river. On the morning of your tour the river was fine, however in between the one hour drive, it rained at some part of the rainforest and it caused the flood. The safety of our guests is our priority, so we canceled the tour and OFFERED an alternative.  As you can see in other reviews here our company or tours are not a scam. We are sorry the tour did not turn out as you expected but unfortunately we have no control of the weather.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Absolutely the tour to take!
Cal_H
, Jul 2021
Carlos was a fantastic guide and got us on the trails early to beat the crowds and really appreciate the beauty of the rainforest. Then fresh mangos and papayas after rock jumping and swimming the pools under the watergal. This is absolutely the tour you need to take to have the best experience hiking El Yunque!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Rainforest adventures awaited us
Rachel_P
, Jul 2021
A fun trip exploring the rainforest and swimming in the natural springs. Rope swing was a highlight and natural slides are for the more adventurous. Hiking route was muddy and a bit technical but the views were worth it. Would be challenging for younger kids or older individuals not in shape. Our guide Carlos was great - patient with the group, answering questions and showing us the best routes.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience for adventurers
Joncarlo_C
, Jul 2021
The moderate hike up the river was beautiful and the swimming hangout location was amazing. My tour guide Jesse was more than friendly and helpful. Just a reminder, you will get wet and a little muddy but you can rinse off in the river and change your clothes at a nearby restroom. Highly recommend that you read the full itinerary description because there was a couple that had no idea what they were getting into and weren't prepared for this type of experience which slowed our group hike.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour!
Brittany_C
, Jul 2021
This was a great tour. Ian and our other tour guide were knowledgeable, helpful on the hike, and enthusiastic. The area we stopped for lunch in Luqiullo was so good! Highly recommend Jibaro. I wish we had more than an hour there. I agree with this being a moderate hike. Definitely need athletic shoes at a minimum. You will slip if you are in water shoes, it was a lot of climbing on slippery rocks, mud and tree roots. Our only complaint is that there were not enough life jackets for the group. You will really be fine without them if you know how to swim, but since we paid so much for the tour and they were short by like 3 life vests (in a group of less than 10 average size adults) it seems a little odd.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Woohoo!!!!
Ron
, Jun 2021
Wow!!! Absolutely incredible. If you could only pick one tour and hike to do this one is it. Our guide Ian was amazing. So knowledgeable and experienced. Even our two kids ages 14 and 12 loved it. Extreme and fantastic tour. Best one of the whole week we were in Puerto Rico.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Ron! Your IG stories definitely showed us the great time you had! Thank you for tagging us and mostly importantly booking with us! Come back and visit us soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
El Tunque
Rosa_V
, Jun 2021
Carlos was my tour guide and he was wonderful. He deserves more than 5 stars. He was very helpful, friendly and kept us informed at all times.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Be prepared.
Ty_M
, Jun 2021
Beautiful water, and being able to jump off of the cliff. It was extremely muddy, so to be able to jump into some cold water was awesome. I will say that our guide wasn't really attentive to the fact that we kept falling behind during the hike. We are short in stature so a lot of his recommendations on where to put our feet ended with us falling all over the place. He did also choose to offer my friend and myself to stay behind while he took the rest of the group up the water fall bit since we clearly needed a little more help which was a little....disheartening. Id like it if he at least offered to try to help include us instead of leaving it to nicer members of the group.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Hi Ty, We are so sorry to hear that you felt that the guide was not giving you and your friend the proper attention. That is definitely not the kid of service we like to provide and another reason why our groups are so small. The hike can be challenging when it's muddy but we try our best to make it fun and memorable for our guests. If you come back to Puerto Rico, please contact us and we will make sure you have a better experience!
HelpfulHelpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest
Current
Tinajas Hiking Adventure to El Yunque Rainforest

star-4.526

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$160.00

star-5105

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.00

star-5193

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.14

star-4.514

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$235.00

star-5395

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.00

star-4.5450

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.00

star-5350

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-522

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.14

star-5162

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

Explore Similar Things to Do